The Last Leg

As I mentioned in the last post, I will show and walk you through the process from rough to shaped leg.  I know there are other methods and tricks, but I am a novice woodworking hobbyist and I am learning by reading and the experience of trials and errors.  The thick slab, as I mentioned in previous posts have been cut into quarters in the length and width, not the thickness.  I have completed three legs sans the mortise.  The fourth leg is still in rough sawn/ planed from the sawmill, otherwise known as machining marks.  The board is in no way smooth in appearance.  It is rough, fuzzy, and the marks of sawmill cutting and rough planting are quite visible.  The photos in this post will show my two hand sawn cuts, one in the length and at the end from quartering the slab.

This is the hand sawn side that I did to determine the rough width.

This is the hand sawn side that I did to determine the rough width.

One face side.

One face side.

Opposite face side.

Opposite face side.

This is the side opposite the cut I made to define the rough width.

This is the side opposite the cut I made to define the rough width.

Marks left from a sawmill.

Marks left from a sawmill.

You can see the fuzziness of a rough sawn board from a sawmill.  You have to be careful when handling rough lumber from sawmills because of the tendency to get splinters.

You can see the fuzziness of a rough sawn board from a sawmill. You have to be careful when handling rough lumber from sawmills because of the tendency to get splinters.

In the next post, I will show and explain the first process of squaring a board for preparation for shaping into a desk leg.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

