One face planed flat and smooth

The finished reference face.

The finished reference face.

I have been busy with work, but I have not been idle in getting the last leg worked on.  I have not had much time, however, I managed to flatten and smooth one face from a rough state to a smooth state.  This is marked by a china marker with a simple cursive f, marking a reference face.  The next step is to turn the board onto it’s edge.  After inspection of the edges to see which would be the most simple and best use of a reference edge, I chose the edge that I had sawn to divide the board in half for the simple fact that I will explain in the photos.

 

This is the finished reference face. I didn't want to lose the thickness of the board, so I chose the opposite edge to make my reference edge.

This is the finished reference face. I didn’t want to lose the thickness of the board, so I chose the opposite edge to make my reference edge.

Now, as you can see, I  would not want this to show up in my finished work.  I chose the opposite edge to plane and square for the reference edge.  I know that you are wondering the logic in my choice.  The opposite edge has less defects/ damage and can be flattened and smoothed with the minimal amount of material removed.  Once that edge is squared, I will finish the other unfinished face in reference to the squared edge.  The last side, the unfinished edge will be marked for the overall width from the reference edge, thereby establishing the widest point in the leg.  If for some reason, the defect or damage is still on the inside of the line, I will take note which end the trouble spot is on.  I will mark the top of the leg an inch or so from the rough end on all four sides.  Then, from the top end mark, I measure 7″ down and mark it on all four sides.  At that mark on a reference face, I measure 22″ for the remainder if that leg length.  On the two faces, I mark the 1-3/4″ at the bottom end line with a short pencil mark. Still working on the faces,  I start at the 7″ mark from the top where it meets the width line and down to the bottom 1-3/4″ mark with a straight edge, drawing a line for the taper of the legs.  Now, the trouble soot should be on the waste side because of the taper.  That problem is eliminated.  I will show pictures when I get to that point.  For now, time for me to head off to work.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

