Leg 4 wrap up

Side view of the leg after using brace and saw.

Planed down to the line.

Planed down to the line.

Planeddowns to the line.Side view of the leg after using brace and saw.

Using the brace and Forster bit, I bored a series of holes along the length of the leg and sawed a few areas to remove the waste.

0Using the brace and Forster bit, I bored a series of holes along the length of the leg and sawed a few areas to remove the waste.

It’s been a while since I last posted due to car trouble, early morning hours, and of course the thanksgiving holiday.  I finished the 4th leg yesterday.  As you can see from the previous post, I showed the outline of the waste side, thereby eliminating the gouges on the last edge.

I mentioned that I would show the method that I used to hog off the waste and plane down to the widest part of the leg.  The quickest way to remove that waste would most likely be a drawknife or a hatchet, but I have yet to acquire those tools yet.

It does look rough and almost like  a set of saw teeth.  The next thing to do was to take a chisel and pare down the peaks as low as possible to the valleys.  Once that was accomplished, I used my joiner plane and leveled the rough surface to a nice, flat and smooth surface down to the marked line of the width.

The next thing to do was cut to length. Then, measure 7″ from the top of leg and scribe a line on all sides.  Now I measure the leg bottom and mark the line to determine bottom width.  Time to draw a line using a straight edge from the 7″ mark on top down to the marked line at the bottom, creating the taper.  Plane does the work down to the line and that’s a wrap on the last leg.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

